Ashly Abbott

Billing and Collections Assistant

How long have you worked for Easton Utilities?

I just celebrated a year in June!


Describe your job history at EU.

I am the Billing and Collections Assistant. I work with both teams on various tasks. I handle billing our customer’s monthly as well as taking payments and processing terminations on delinquent accounts. I also process service orders for many different requests such as new service or transferring from one customer to another.


What is your favorite part of your job and working for EU?

Working with numbers is my favorite part of my position and being able to do it from home is an added bonus.


During your service with EU, is there one key moment that stands out as significant or unique?

Being able to continue working thru the pandemic we are experiencing, to support my family. I could not be more thankful for the opportunity to work at home!


What EU tradition is your favorite and why?

The family picnic is the best because my family is able to be included. I also loved the Rock fish trip with Hugh, awarded at the picnic.


How do you feel EU positively impacts the community?

EU is very involved with the community with numerous projects and events, which shows how much we truly care about our customers and their families.


Describe your life outside of work.

BUSY!! I love the outdoors; camping, fishing, hunting and gardening. I also love to go bowling and play pool. I bowl on a league in the winter and played pool for a number of years in the past in the APA league.


Describe the members of your family and any pets.

My husband Brent and I have been married for 5 years in November. He has been an auto mechanic for 20 years; fun fact…I have always hated mechanics because they try to tell you that you need something you don’t. I wasn’t very happy when I found out his profession after we met but here we are 9 years later! Brent and I have a 3 year old little girl together named Layla who is a sassy ball of fire and keeps us on our toes; for those that really know me know she gets that from her dad (HA)! I have a bonus son, Brent Jr that is newly 16 and itching for MVA to open to get his permit to start driving. We have a Pitbull/boxer mix that is rescue, Austin. She will be 12 this year and has been with my husband since she was about 2 years old.


What plans do you have for the future?

I think often of an Accounting degree but I have just never pursued it. My intentions are to spend the next 30 years here with EU, moving up the chain of command to advance my career and knowledge. For now I will just continue working, spending time with my family; until I am able to retire, buy an RV then travel the world.


Anything else interesting you’d like to share?

  • My entire family is born in the month of October. Brent Jr is 10/10, Layla is 10/11, mine is 10/16 and Brent is 10/26. Even our dog’s birthday is 10/04.
    Because I am such a numbers dork, I turned our birthday dates into an equation Brent minus me equals Jr add Layla: 26-16=10+1=11
  • Also, a large portion of Brent’s family is deaf and I have spent the last 9 years learning how to sign as well as teaching Layla since she was about a year old. Our dog also knows several commands in sign language.