Ray Fairbank

Inspector/Locator II

How long have you worked for Easton Utilities?

I have been with EU now for 7 years.


Describe your job history at EU.

In 1999 I began working at EU in the water and wastewater department under Dallas Johns as a spry 21-year-old. I worked here until 2002 when I left to venture out into the private sector, remaining in the underground utility business. I returned to EU in June of 2016 as a Gas Technician IV under Rick Wilson. In 2018, I transferred to the Engineering department as an Infrastructure Inspector/Locator I. After receiving the CPII (Certified Public Infrastructure Inspector) designation from the American Public Works Association I was promoted to Infrastructure Inspector/Locator II in May of 2022.


What is your favorite part of your job and working for EU?

My favorite part about my job here at EU is developing professional relationships both internally with coworkers, and externally with the various contractors that I interact with frequently.


During your service with EU, is there one key moment that stands out as significant or unique?

One key moment that was significant for me was the company supported mentorship program. The program allowed me to pair up with a mentor that provided me with an in-depth look at my career growth potential here at EU. They were able to help me set goals, meet those goals, and continue to focus on my career path.


What EU tradition is your favorite and why?

My favorite EU tradition is the company picnic. This event allows all employees to enjoy the company of each other and the opportunity to meet their families.


How do you feel EU positively impacts the community?

EU does so many things within our community. One that stands out for me, and one I enjoy being a part of, is the Habitat for Humanity build. This event allows me to take part in building a house for someone in need. Every nail, screw, and piece of lumber in that house was touched by someone who volunteered to make a difference.


Describe your life outside of work.

My life outside of work consists of spending time with family and friends. I enjoy many activities such as hunting, fishing, and playing softball with friends and co-workers. When I have time at home, I also enjoy cooking.


Describe the members of your family and any pets.

I've been married to my beautiful wife Melissa for almost 10 years now. I have 2 boys, Ray 20, who also works here at EU and Cody 18, who lives in Ohio, helping to operate a family run café. Melissa and I have a 4-year-old German Shepherd named Ovi (Big Capitals fans) and a 7-year-old cat named Zoey.


What plans do you have for the future?

I am currently enrolled in the Project Management Institute to become a Certified Associate of Project Management that I hope to wrap up this year. I have also registered to begin classes at Delaware Technical Community College in the fall. Both are significant milestones for meeting my career goals.